Music From Austria



John Shea presents a week featuring some of Austria's finest music making with performances from the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, the ground breaking period instruments of Nikolaus Harnoncourt's Concentus Musicus and the chance to hear Mozart's own fortepiano

Haydn Symphony No. 6 in D, Hob. I/6 'Le matin'.

Concentus Musicus Wien, Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor)

approx. 2.20pm

Brahms Variations in B flat on a theme by Joseph Haydn, op. 56a

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)

c. 2.40pm

Brahms Schicksalslied, op. 54,

Choral Society of Music Friends, Vienna

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Franz Welser-Möst (conductor)

c. 3.00pm


Symphony No. 5 in F, op. 76

c. 3.30pm

Mozart Piano Trio No. 3 in B flat, K. 502

Robert Levin (Mozart's fortepiano)

Frank Stadler (Mozart's violin)

Peter Sigl ('cello)

c. 4.00pm

Haydn Symphony No. 7 in C, Hob. I/7, 'Le midi'


John Shea presents some of Austria's finest musicians - the Vienna Boys' Choir sings a Haydn motet and Nikolaus Harnoncourt conducts the period instruments of his Concentus Musicus in an early symphony by Haydn and a starry line up of soloists in a masterful cantata by J.S. Bach

Haydn Symphony No. 8 in G, Hob. I/8 'Le soir'

Concentus Musicus Wien, Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor)

approx 2.25

Bach Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BMV 565

Gunther Rost (organ)

approx 2.35

Bach Cantata: Wir müssen durch viel Trübsal in das Reich Gottes eingehen, BWV 146

Genia Kühmeier (soprano)

Bernarda Fink (contralto)

Kurt Streit (tenor)

Matthias Goerne (bass)

Concentus Musicus, Vienna,

Arnold Schoenberg Chorus

Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor)

approx 3.05pm

Mozart Twelve Variations on an Allegretto in B flat, K. 500

Robert Levin (Mozart's fortepiano)

approx 3.10pm

Mozart Three Piano Trio Movements, K. 442

Completed Robert Levin (European Première)

Allegro in D minor

Tempo di Menuetto in G

Allegro in D

Frank Stadler (Mozart's violin)

Soloist: Peter Sigl ('cello)

approx 3.25pm

Haydn The Storm, Hob. XXIVa:8, madrigal

Vienna Boy's Choir, The Prague Chamber Orchestra, Aleksandar Markovic (conductor)

approx 4.00pm

Dvorák Serenade in D minor, op. 44

Vienna Virtuosi.


John Shea presents a performance of Haydn's Missa Cellensis - with a starry line up of soloists, Vienna's leading chamber choir and the period instruments of Concentus Musicus, Vienna, all conducted by Nikolaus Harnoncourt, one of the most inspiring and provocative musicians of our age. The mass was written for the Esterhazy family in 1766 and is notable for its astonishing vigour.

Haydn Mass No. 8 in C Hob. XXII/5 ('Missa Cellensis')

Bernarda Bobro (soprano)

Elisabeth von Magnus (mezzo-soprano)

Daniel Johannsen (tenor)

Florian Boesch (bass)

Arnold Schoenberg Chorus,

Concentus Musicus Wien,

Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor).

AO304 LAST20120608

John Shea concludes this week's exploration of some top class Austrian music making with Act 3 of Strauss's Die Frau ohne Schatten Christian Thielemann and the Vienna Philharmonic and Haydn and Bach from Nikolaus harnoncourt and his Concentus Musicus, Wien.

Strauss Die Frau ohne Schatten Act 3

The Emperor (Der Kaiser) Stephen Gould (tenor),

The Empress (Die Kaiserin), Keikobad's daughter Anne Schwanewilms (soprano),

The Nurse (Die Amme), her guardian Michaela Schuster (mezzo),

Barak, the Dyer (Barak, der Färber) Wolfgang Koch (baritone),

The Dyer's Wife (Die Färberin) Evelyn Herlitzius (soprano),

The One-eyed Man (Der Einäugige), Barak's brother Markus Brück (high bass),

The One-Armed Man (Der Einarmige), Barak's brother Steven Humes (bass),

The Hunchback (Der Bucklige), Barak's brother Andreas Conrad (tenor),

The Messenger of Keikobad Thomas Johannes Mayer (high baritone),

Vienna State Opera Chorus Concert Association

Salzburg Festival Children's Chorus

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Christian Thielemann (conductor)

approx 3.15pm

Haydn Symphony No. 94 in G, Hob. I/94 'Surprise'

Concentus Musicus Wien, Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor)

approx 3.40pm

Bach Ach, wie flüchtig, ach, wie nichtig, cantata, BWV 26

Genia Kühmeier (soprano),

Bernarda Fink (contralto),

Kurt Streit (tenor),

Matthias Goerne (bass),

Arnold Schoenberg Chorus, Concentus Musicus, Vienna

Nikolaus Harnoncourt (conductor)

approx 3.55pm

Bach Magnificat in D, BWV 243 027.14 min.

Roberta Invernizzi (soprano),