Celebrating Mozart



The final live concert from the City of London as Radio 3 celebrates the 250th anniversary of Mozart's birth.

From St Giles Church in the Barbican, presented by Andrew Mcgregor.

Members of the BBC Symphony Orchestra perform some of the Serenades.

The charming Serenata notturna was written while Mozart was Konzertmeister at the Prince Archbishop's court in Salzburg, and it has an echo ensemble set against the main body of players.

Eine Kleine Nachtmusik was premiered in Vienna on 10 August, 1787 - the year of the opera Don Giovanni and the death of Mozart's father.

The Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments or Gran Partita stands without parallel in wind music: its seven movements show Mozart's mastery of instrumental combinations, colours and forms.

Serenade in D, K239 - Serenata notturna; Serenade in G, K525 - Eine Kleine Nachtmusik; Serenade in B flat, K361 - Gran Partita

BBC Symphony Orchestra

Chamber Ensemble.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was born on 27 January, 1756.

Radio 3's celebration of the 250th anniversary of his birthday continues with the second of four live concerts from St Giles Church, Barbican in London.

Presented by Andrew Mcgregor.

Llyr Williams plays three of the piano works - one of the earliest Piano Sonatas, written around 1775, has an unusual andante amoroso middle movement.

It contrasts with two works written between 1781 and 1783 - the dark Fantasia in Dm and the Piano Sonata, which shows Mozart's mastery of the classical form.

Sonata in B flat, K281

Fantasia in Dm, K397

Sonata in C, K330