Autumn Journal

show more detailshow less detail



by Louis Macneice.

Read by Samuel West.

Louis Macneice's poetic masterpiece Autumn Journal, written from August to December 1938 describes the poet's thoughts and feelings at the time, with echoes of WW1 and the looming shadow of WW2.

It contains rapportage, ethics, love poems, politics.

MacNeice wrote to Ts Eliot ' it is about everything which from first-hand experience I consider significant'.

With original music composed by Gary Yershon and performed by Anne Wood, Julia Singleton, Dinah Beamish, Fiona Clifton Welker, Anna Hemery and Paul Moylan.

Directed by Susan Roberts