The Atomic Mister Basie

Malcolm Laycock presents a six-part series telling the story of the greatest big-band leader of the Swing era - Count Basie.


01Sixteen Men Singing20001117

Featuring the voices of Ella Fitzgerald, Barrie Chase, Humphrey Lyttleton and the Count himself.

02The Kid From Red Bank20001124

Featuring the voices of Joe Wilder, Eddie Lockjaw Davis, Annie Ross, John Hammond and the Count himself.

03Doggin' Around20001201

Featuring the voices of John Hammond, Buddy Tate, Harry Edison, Frank Manning and the Count himself.

04New Basie Blues20001208

This programme charts Basie's progress as he battled with the shrinking big-band business and to hold his own with the New Testament Band. Featuring the voices of Clark Terry, Buddy Tate, Joe Wilder and the Count himself.

05Street Of Dreams20001215

This programme investigates Basie's musical love affair with singers like Sinatra, Ella, Tony Bennett and Joe Williams, among others.

06 LASTChairman Of The Board20001222

Featuring contributions from Tony Bennett, Grover Mitchell, drummers Butch Miles and Denis Mackrell, and the Count himself.